Siblings: OAB Roundtable #20

Anyone who reads my blog regularly probably saw this prompt coming. Recent comments and emails tell me you all have a lot to say on the topic. I’ll leave the prompt nice and broad, so each of us can focus on the sliver most on our minds at the moment.

Write about siblings and open adoption.

I’m not sure whether or not to write about this, but I will anyway.

We had always thought that School Girl was going to have a sibling. Always. When I was trying to get pregnant, I had wanted to have at least 3 kids; despite what you might read here, I genuinely enjoy having kids around and wanted to have a relatively big family.

I never expected that School Girl would be an only child.

Part of it was the age that Mr. Evil and I were when we adopted. Part of it was the stress of adoption itself; emotional, financial, dealing with our families…everything. We’ve had, frankly, our challenges with our relationships with M and her immediate family. I’m not sure I want to think about what would happen with another family in the mix. Things could have been better, or a hell of a lot worse, or so many other things in between.

There may come a time, and I’m guessing it will happen, when M has a child that she will be raising herself. I hope that School Girl will be able to have a relationshiip with her half-sibling, just as she has a relationship with M and C. Which is going to be a…difficult thing to talk about, to say the least. We’re just now starting to get into the hard questions. The ones that I can’t, and shouldn’t, answer. I have no idea what we’ll do when the time comes. It’ll be another question for M, but we’ll have to deal with the aftermaths of the answers she gets.

Which is a long way of saying I have no real right to write about any of this.

This entry was posted in OAB Roundtable and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.