Hair or No Hair. Still Beautiful.

A few weeks ago, Amanda Palmer linked to this advertisement for a waxing salon.

Not even considering the hellish creepiness of having anybody waxing a child, this really bothered me. Fun fact: the model in the ad looks roughly the same age as my daughter (if that child is 15, I’ll drink a whole bottle of absinthe and post it on YouTube).

The worst part was both the message this sends to tweens. You can’t feel free or independent unless your body is devoid of all hair (not counting the hair on your head.

You also can’t be beautiful if you aren’t thin, blond, and white – with long, straight hair. Only on your head, of course.

Something else that kind of bothered me were lots and lots of comments about how “shaving makes me feel pretty”, how shaving one’s legs makes them “feel more confident”. Of course, there have been times when I’ve felt that way too. I damn near ripped off layers of skin when I tried waxing my legs all the way up to my hips. Yes, the first time was the last time.

A lot of that changed when I became a parent.

My baby isn’t a baby anymore. She’s currently beginning puberty – complete with pimples, different hair texture, and vicious mood swings. Most of her friends are either where she is right now or will be there soon. I never want them to feel like they are less than beautiful just as they are. If Baby Bat wants to shave, that has to be her choice; because she wants to, not because she needs to. Not for anyone else.

That’s not to take away anything from anyone else. I can hear the protests now…”But I like shaving! What’s wrong with it? Are you saying there’s something wrong with me for shaving?” No. Frankly, it’s none of my business what anyone else chooses to do to their body. But the reason why so many women (and some men) feel the need to have a hairless body is worth considering.

This entry was posted in mental floss, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.