Some A**hat with a Gun. Again.

This past Thursday night/Friday morning saw many theaters across the US offering midnight showings of The Dark Knight Rises. It’s the latest Batman movie. We’re not huge Batman fans here (although one of us is partial to the new Batwoman DC series), but I love going to midnight movies. I especially enjoy midnight opening nights. In fact, our family was planning to give in to the screaming pleasfrequent requests from somebody and go to the opening of Catching Fire. Now I’m not so sure.

If you’ve been living under a rock or been on a wilderness camping trip for the past few days, here’s a brief synopsis, complete with pictures. Some idiot, whose name will not be mentioned here, walked into a crowded midnight showing of “The Dark Knight Rises”, dropped a canister of tear gas, and began shooting. By the time he walked back out, 71 people had been shot and 12 of them had died. One of the dead was 6 years old.

What made him do that? I don’t know. Frankly, I don’t care. His reasons are unimportant to me. I’d like dearly to see him rot in jail for the rest of his life, but I doubt that will happen. Should we have stricter gun control laws in the US? I don’t want to give my opinion – it’s irrelevant anyway, as there are precious few restraints on firearm purchases/possessions in our state. But I am angry.

There are a couple of reasons that I don’t mind sharing. One is that I’m a parent. No parent wants to send their child out with some friends and not have them come home. My heart breaks for the families that have been affected by all this.

The other reason is that I love midnight movies. Some of the most fun I’ve had in my life have been at some really awful (and a few brilliant) movies, late at night, with friends or by myself. I even have one classic midnight favorite to thank for saving my life and making some good, close friends. It also breaks my heart that I don’t feel right allowing my child to go to one when she’s old enough. Not now. Maybe by the time she’s old enough, there won’t be any midnight movies. I hope not. But I don’t know.

If you’d like a way to show support for the victims of this horror, there are a number of ways to help:

  • There’s always our statewide blood donation center, Bonfils Blood Center. Make certain you are eligible before calling to make an appointment.
  • The is providinAurora Mental Health Center is offering counseling to anyone who feels they need some support. They could sure use a donation at this time.
  • There is a Reddit post about where to send letters of support; either to the first responders at the Aurora PD and FD/EMT or area hospitals (for the victims and/or their families). As soon as I find it again, I’ll add it. If anyone else has the link, feel free to add it in the comments and I’ll put it up here.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Random Fun, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.