I’m not even sure how to title this. It’s been on my mind for a while, and I thought I’d write about it today. Primarily because it won’t leave me alone.

“A squaw living under an oak tree in C_____ T_______ Twp.” It’s part of a marriage record from a very long time ago. In the mid-1800s, when this was written, people didn’t bother to learn the names of people who weren’t white (at least not there).

White people also didn’t bother to learn what tribe they were from. A family story indicated the woman in the document was “Cherokee” – which would have been impossible in that area. Of course, back then if you weren’t white, black or Asian, you were a Cherokee. But anyway.

I have no idea how to feel about this. I suppose I should feel pride, but I only feel sadness and anger for the woman “living under the oak tree”.

Aside | This entry was posted in Random Fun, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.