Friday the 13th! W00t!

In case I haven’t said it yet, I really, really like Friday the 13ths. Ever since I heard a story about the origins of Friday the 13th, I’ve been a fan. It’s also changed the way I look at superstitions.

Once upon a time, I worked in a Large Standalone Electronics Store in the Big City. I worked in the service department with a bunch of other people, mostly men. My manager’s girlfriend and I became friends. One day, a Friday the 13th (I think), we were talking about my boyfriend problems. I was depressed and sad and blamed it on the date.

Then she told me what her Sicilian grandmother told her. “Friday the 13th is a lucky day. Especially for women. But the stories have been taken over by other people, so most people don’t know that. It’s a very lucky day.”

That was my introduction as an adult to the way thinking differently about something can change your attitude – not just what happens, but how you look at things. As it turned out, breaking up with that somebody was a pretty damn good thing. And it happened on a Friday the 13th.

It’s been a day I look forward to ever since. Good things and bad things have happened, just like on every other day. But it’s just a date.

Happy Friday the 13th, you guys.

This entry was posted in Random Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.