3 Songs: Writing 101

Today’s assignment: write about 3 of your favorite songs.

Kind of a paraphrase of this.

I love music, and there are a lot of songs, both with and without words, that are important to me. Here are the 3 off the top of my head today:

“The Scientist” by Coldplay. My daughter loves this song, and it was the first time she’d sung in front of a group of people. There was an “Open Mic Day” in her General Music class. She’s normally afraid to put herself out there, but she worked on the song at home and sang in class. By herself. At home that evening, she was so excited that she did something she thought she was too scared to attempt. So every time I’ve heard it since, I think of that.

“Two-part Invention No. 4 in d” by J.S. Bach. It was the first piano piece I ever memorized, and the first one I worked on when I was well enough to play after neck surgery. It’s sometimes nice to have something you can do almost on auto-pilot. Almost…

“Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)” by Green Day. A’s last day of 6th grade is today. There’s a big production where the kids walk through the halls, lined with all the other kids, teachers, parents, etc. Her school used to play this song every year, and A’s hoping they’ll play it today. You can hear it a number of different ways – and I’m sure Green Day meant it one way in particular – but it’s become a happy, familiar good-bye song for A and the rest of her class.

There’s a lot more, but the prompt only asked for three.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.