Writing 101: Happy Birthday Dinner

Sorry I’ve been out for a while. There were 2 exams and other things that got in the way. Anyhow, today’s assignment is this:

Tell us about your favorite childhood meal — the one that was always a treat, that meant “celebration,” or that comforted you and has deep roots in your memory.

When I was a kid, my sister and I celebrated our birthdays together. When you’re born 4 years and 2 days apart, that happens. We did get a separate birthday dinner on our actual birthdays, even though the cake and “family party” happened on the in-between day.

My dinner was always lasagna.

There was always the choice between getting it from the local pizzeria/Italian restaurant and making it at home. Making it at home was normally an all-afternoon project. Boiling the noodles, making the meat sauce, grating cheese and putting it all together (the spinach and tofu ricotta didn’t happen until much later). That was a big part of the attraction for me; just family time spent making dinner. Eating it was pretty good too, but making it was the most fun. I don’t even remember what my mom’s lasagna tasted like, or even what it looked like coming out of the oven; just how it felt to be doing something together. That was the best.

This entry was posted in Random Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing 101: Happy Birthday Dinner

  1. Megz says:

    Now I really want my mom’s lasagna

Comments are closed.